Giving Thanks and Helping Others

Recently I was reminded of just how much I have to be thankful for. A very good friend of mine decided to come along with me to try to harvest some Mallards for thanksgiving. We made the drive into Nevada to my secret spot that usually holds a good population of ducks and set off. This spot doesn’t sport the normal kind of duck hunting situation where one is typically sitting in a blind in front of a body of water, instead it requires a fair amount of walking, sneaking, peeking and hopefully shooting. We had a wonderful day together and ended up getting a few mallards to boot.

As we were hunting I was thinking about all the people out in the world who don’t get to enjoy God’s wonderful creation as I do. I realized that God has blessed me in many ways, both in providing for my family and friends through hunting and gathering, but also through showing the love that Jesus has for us to others by how I live my life.

Last Sunday the gospel text that we looked at was from the Gospel of Matthew chapter 25, “Come you that are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world; for I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you gave me clothing, I was sick and you took care of me, I was in prison and you visited me.”  The disciples asked him, “When did we see or do these things to you? He answered them Truly I tell you, just as you did it to one of the least of these who are members of my family, you did it to me.”

Sharing, serving, loving, visiting and feeding people are much more that what we think. We tend to think only on our dimension, about ourselves and those around us. But when we take care of others it’s two dimensional. You are actually doing those actions to Jesus. When we harvest an animal or gather plants and give them to those who are less fortunate and needing a meal, we are actually feeding that person and Christ Jesus. When we are giving someone a bit to drink, we are actually slaking Jesus’ thirst. When we visit someone who is sick or in prison, we are actually visiting Jesus.

This thanksgiving when you see someone who is in need of food and maybe something to give thanks for, please stop and picture Jesus in the persons place, and help them.

About thereverentoutdoors

I am a pastor in the Lutheran church who loves the outdoors and all that it provides; food, joy, peace, contentment
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

